DCAudioDIY.com

DC Area Audio DIYer's Community
It is currently September 24th, 2023, 1:43 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: March 24th, 2023, 10:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 4th, 2013, 2:39 pm
Posts: 478
This is my first project with a toroid PT. I plan to use a metal chassis and mount the toroid on top with a cover for shielding. Fortunately, I happened upon a discussion of the issues involved and the ugly things that can happen! My question is, is the Antek cover arrangement sufficient to avoid the dreaded core loop? I assume so but I wanted to ask the experts here. Here's what Antek sends you:

https://www.antekinc.com/ca-005-steel-cover/

I'd appreciate any input to avoid a nuclear meltdown. ;-)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: March 25th, 2023, 6:10 am 
Offline

Joined: February 28th, 2013, 1:19 pm
Posts: 906
Grover,

Yes, the top cover is fastened with black nylon insulating bushing and acorn nut, so that it does not complete the loop. It should work fine. The heavy (and more expensive) steel cover is what I use and it is extremely effective, though overkill. I have a pair of the stamped covers in hand waiting for the next project.

https://www.antekinc.com/ca-050-steel-cover/

David


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: March 25th, 2023, 10:12 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: July 24th, 2015, 4:17 pm
Posts: 1677
Location: Parkville, Maryland
Actually when it comes to toroids that are inherently shielded by virtue of their toroidal construction. Put another way -- they don't emit a magnetic field.

So -- money and effort does not have to be spent to shield what doesn't need shielding.

_________________
Walt


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: March 25th, 2023, 10:45 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: February 28th, 2013, 10:38 am
Posts: 1665
Theory and practice don’t always agree…. That’ll be true the next time someone builds a perfect toroidal transformer, which will also be the first time.

_________________
I can explain it to you, but I can’t understand it for you.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: March 25th, 2023, 11:07 am 
Offline

Joined: June 4th, 2013, 2:39 pm
Posts: 478
SoundMods wrote:
Actually when it comes to toroids that are inherently shielded by virtue of their toroidal construction. Put another way -- they don't emit a magnetic field.

So -- money and effort does not have to be spent to shield what doesn't need shielding.


A year ago I experimented with some toroids on a pair of monoblocks and had no problem, but the preamp project is a bit more sensitive and I've got it hanging 6 inches off the breadboard to avoid interference, so I think the shielding makes sense in this case. It's also a cossmetic thing, at the very least.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: March 25th, 2023, 11:12 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: July 24th, 2015, 4:17 pm
Posts: 1677
Location: Parkville, Maryland
Grover Gardner wrote:
SoundMods wrote:
Actually when it comes to toroids that are inherently shielded by virtue of their toroidal construction. Put another way -- they don't emit a magnetic field.

So -- money and effort does not have to be spent to shield what doesn't need shielding.


A year ago I experimented with some toroids on a pair of monoblocks and had no problem, but the preamp project is a bit more sensitive and I've got it hanging 6 inches off the breadboard to avoid interference, so I think the shielding makes sense in this case. It's also a cosmetic thing, at the very least.

10-4

_________________
Walt


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: March 25th, 2023, 11:25 am 
Offline

Joined: March 12th, 2013, 11:12 am
Posts: 736
I have wondered whether it would be worth it to fabricate a shield between my preamp PT and the board? I don't have any noise issues that I can detect (preamp is virtually as quiet as a passive) but the location of the PT seems less that ideal. A copper sheet, cut out to fit and form an internal wall between PT and board, bolted in and grounded? Worth it or just destroying the resale value of an Ayre preamp?

Image

Image


Last edited by TubeDriver on March 25th, 2023, 1:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: March 25th, 2023, 11:27 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: February 28th, 2013, 10:38 am
Posts: 1665
The first rule of engineering: If it aint broke, don’t fix it……

_________________
I can explain it to you, but I can’t understand it for you.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: March 25th, 2023, 11:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: July 24th, 2015, 4:17 pm
Posts: 1677
Location: Parkville, Maryland
[quote="TubeDriver"]I have wondered whether it would be worth it to fabricate a shied between my preamp PT and the board? I don't have any noise issues that I can detect (preamp is virtually as quiet as a passive) but the location of the PT seems less that ideal. A copper sheet, cut out to fit and form an internal wall between PT and board, bolted in and grounded? Worth it or just destroying the resale vale of an Ayre preamp?

Like Rosco said -- ". . . if it ain't broke - don't fix it."

So -- the way find out if its "broke" -- short out a pair of inputs to isolate the pre-amp from the outside world -- switch to those inputs and run the pre-amp up to full volume. Does it know the words or is their hum?

No hum? It ain't broke.

_________________
Walt


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: March 25th, 2023, 1:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: March 12th, 2013, 11:12 am
Posts: 736
Does that trump the 3rd rule of audiophilia: nothing is good enough, make it more better!


Roscoe Primrose wrote:
The first rule of engineering: If it aint broke, don’t fix it……


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group